Tags

, , ,

After a late night of chapter reading and working on a paper for class I decided to call it a night around 2 a.m. So as I’m turning off lights and preparing to go to bed, to get up again in 3 ½ hours, I notice a bright, blinking light flashing from underneath my daughter’s bedroom door. I was a bit apprehensive to check it out because it is close to Halloween and I know the scary movie rules. Normally, folks who decide to go investigating bright lights and other phenomena in the middle of the night rarely make it to the end of the movie, but…well, it is my daughter’s room and I don’t want to wake up in the morning to find her in the television set or some evil monkey in her closet. So I bravely forged ahead and opened her bedroom door to find a shoe…one of those light-flashing tennis shoes, which she’d left in the middle of the floor. Maybe it was sending out a distress signal to be placed back in the closet with its partner, I don’t know, but I just shook it to make it stop, glanced at my daughter to make sure all was well (she of course hadn’t moved during the whole incident) and closed the door. I thought to myself that I wish I’d come up with that flashing shoe idea, I see kids with them on all the time, so the inventor has got to be making some money. Personally, I find them visually annoying and why are we paying extra money for some shoes that light up? But my daughter loves ‘em…so there ya’ go. Happy Tuesday!